BLF awards $90,000 to 45 Legacy Scholarship winners

May 31, 2017

The Baylor Line Foundation announced today that it has awarded $2,000 Legacy Scholarships to 45 Baylor students and incoming freshmen – all of them the children and grandchildren of Baylor alumni.

“The review committee was very impressed with the caliber of the applicants and wished we could have awarded many more,” said BLF Executive Director Allen Holt ’80, who noted that this year’s awards represented a nearly 10% increase over last year. “We felt it was time to increase the size of the scholarship in light of the increasing cost to attend Baylor, but the unfortunate result of that was that we had to say ‘no’ to more applicants than in the past few years.”

The BLF received more than 180 applications for the 2017-18 school year, and many of the winners provided long lists of Baylor alumni within their family trees, with sisters, brothers, aunts, and uncles who not only went to Baylor but married Baylor graduates and have children who have attended or are attending the university.’ The organization awarded 82 $1,000 scholarships for the 2016-17 school year.

“The $90,000 we have committed to this program came from member donations and from the proceeds from events like Onward! last June and our Hall of Fame Awards Dinner in January 2017,” said President Fred R. Norton Jr. ’80, JD ’83, who will pass the gavel to incoming President Jackie Baugh Moore ’86 this weekend at the BLF’s Annual Meeting at 10:30 on Saturday, June 3 at the Waco Hilton. “This is an important program for us and we hope to be able to increase the amount again next year.

If you’d like to donate to the BLF Legacy Scholarship Fund, you can do so here.

The winners of 2017-18 Legacy Scholarships (with their anticipated graduation year) are:

  • Theodore Baker, Dallas, 2021
  • Samantha Bland, Midlothian, TX, 2019
  • Chase Brown, Helotes, TX, 2021
  • Sutton Cameron, The Hills, TX, 2020
  • Jake Chapman, Austin, 2020
  • Corrie Coleman, Dallas, 2019
  • Samuel Gostomski, Waco, 2018
  • Julia Hawes, Springfield, MO, 2020
  • Christian Henry, North Richland Hills, TX, 2021
  • Seth Howton, Waco, 2021
  • Michael Karr, Waco, Dec. 2020
  • Margaret Land, Sugar Land, TX, 2021
  • Mason Laurence, San Antonio, 2021
  • Hannah Luce, Waco, Dec. 2017
  • Victoria Malone, Arlington, TX, 2019
  • Jae Moore, Tuscola, TX, 2020
  • Maxwell Morgan, Friendswood, TX, 2021
  • Janie Nichols, Waco, 2020
  • Willard Nopper, Lucas, TX, 2021
  • Trevor Payne, Spring, TX, 2021
  • Davis Petty, Montgomery, TX, 2020
  • Benjamin Phillips, Waco, 2020
  • Kristin Pool, Granger, IN, 2019
  • Brooke Reid, Waxahachie, TX, 2019
  • Rebecca Richards, East Winthrop, ME, 2018
  • Annie Richmond, Watertown, MA, 2018
  • Parker Roberson, Round Rock, TX, 2019
  • Reuben Saage, Reisel, TX, 2021
  • Lawson Sadler, San Antonio, 2020
  • Caitlin Simpson, Lorena, TX, 2020
  • Ryan Snitzer, Plano, TX, 2018
  • Emily Starr, Tyler, TX, 2019
  • Emily Stellburg, Tempe, AZ, 2021
  • Harrison Swiggart, Houston, 2020
  • Dylan Tippit, McKinney, TX, 2021
  • Michael Tucker, Flower Mound, TX, 2019
  • Arden Veach, Waco, TX, 2019
  • Daniel Villaflor, Corinth, MS, 2021
  • Barbara Ruth Vinson, Lubbock, TX, 2021
  • Dayton Volek, Taylor, TX, 2020
  • Anna Wicker, Plano, TX, 2021
  • Christina Wicker, Plano, TX, 2019
  • Haley Winkleman, Robinson, TX, 2021
  • Meagan Wittner, Hurst, TX, 2020
  • McKenna Woodrow, Aspen, CO, 2020
Baylor Line FoundationBLF awards $90,000 to 45 Legacy Scholarship winners